Discover Yourself

Throughout my time in school I have found many things to be helpful. When I was at Treasure Valley Community College I worked hard to stay organized and maintain a balanced life. Because this was all so new to me, I wanted to keep some normalcy in my life. Being organized and keeping focus on school and home was what helped me through high school, so, if it ain’t broke don’t fix it. When I moved to Idaho State I had left my support system behind. I was all alone and had to quickly find a way to fill in the void. What worked before at TVCC was not going to help me at ISU. I could no longer go to school then go home to my family and pets. I went to school then went to an apartment full of strangers. What I chose to do was join clubs and organizations and immerse myself in the university. This gave me the support I was missing. I had a group of people that I could go to when times got hard or people that would celebrate with me when I aced an exam.

As you read this you may be wondering why I am not talking about study techniques or the best way to write a college worthy paper. I have graduated with an associates and a bachelor’s degree and am currently working on a masters degree so there must be some formula or checklist to follow! I am telling you that I didn’t get to where I am today by sheer brilliance and study habits. I don’t believe that that is what it takes to be successful in college at all. In order to truly be successful in college you have to discover yourself.

I found that learning who I am was what made me successful. Through my discovery I made mistakes, fell apart, and rebuilt myself. Having a support system was essential in this process. I knew that I could take risks and muddle in adventure because there were people by my side encouraging me along the way. I knew I was never too far from home because my family made sure to send their love and always let me know that they believed in me. My professors and supervisors gave me that additional push and guided me in the right direction by showing me that I already knew what I was doing even if it didn’t feel like it.

I wish someone had told me this before I started school; it would have saved me a lot of time spent worrying about the best way to study for an exam. I am here to say that being successful in college is a challenge. Discovering yourself is not an easy road to drive down. There are twists and turns, bumps and potholes, and there might even be a mudslide. You just have to trust yourself, know what you are capable of, and know that there is more self-discovery ahead. If you put stock in this then the rest will come.

courtney with sisterIMG_3607

