“If something is meant to be, then it will be”.

I’ve never had much faith in this saying because it never proven particularly true for myself…or at least I thought.

Let’s hop back to some simpler times real quick…. There I was, in all my newfound high school upperclassmen glory. “Man being a junior is awesome, I’m so close!” was constantly running through my mind. But then THE DAY came.

I was sitting with my Advisory class (Home room) in my high school’s career counselor’s room, when she asked to hear everyone’s plans for their life post graduation. One by one, all my peers announced the schools they were applying to and/or the jobs they had interest in, may it be a family business or not. But when it came to be my turn, I kinda just froze. I had had some conflicts with my parents about this subject, but it always boiled down to me not being sure what I wanted to do with my life. So I gave the Counselor the same response I gave my parents, “I’m not sure”.

Later that week I received a summons to the…you guessed it!…career/counseling office. When I got there, she sat me down and we talked all about colleges and the different forms of financial aid that I could consider.  I left that room knowing I was going to college, just not where, or what I would study. When I returned to class that afternoon, I was still very impressionable. The class I returned to after that meeting wasn’t an ordinary class in our high school. It was an architecture/engineering class taught by a retired University of Washington engineering professor, Mr. Miyoshi. We called him Yoshi, but that’s besides the point. Now imagine sitting in a computer lab, where the student next to you was programming a robot that he had built, while on the other side, another student was designing a 3D model of their favorite car or a house that they spent the last month designing every nook and cranny of on paper or on another drafting software. Seeing these things come to life, through coding or through a 3D printer, was enthralling to me. So, I began to look into engineering schools. My good friend Nick had the same thought as me (cause you know, great minds think alike). At first we landed on Embry-Riddle, 

 

11419324_1029101077107844_3593120065749710684_o

which is an aeronautical sciences school. We did some researching and both decided the school wasn’t right for us. It just didn’t present the outdoor opportunities that we were looking for. After searching what felt like the entire country, we gave up for the day. 

After being a two year FFA Officer in Washington (did I mention I’m from Seattle?), there was a lot of pressure from both teachers and the community to attend Washington State University, as it is the agriculture school of the state. Pullman is nice and all, but living there would have felt like “high school 2.0”, when the majority of my graduating class was planning to attend WSU. I wanted a good school where I could blaze my own path. When I returned to school the next day I had a conversation with my FFA adviser who recommended that I look into universities in Idaho. We talked about The University of Idaho which was just a stone’s throw away from WSU. There was also Boise State University, which I also decided against because moving to Boise would be a change in scenery, but still not much different than Seattle. That’s when she mentioned a quaint little town that she and her husband had lived in just after they both graduated from WSU – Pocatello, Idaho. She reminisced about the trails that they used to hike with their dog, and the ski slopes (Pebble Creek) that are just a few minutes away.

My parents and I immediately scheduled a campus visit for later that month. When the time came to make the 12 hour drive for the visit, I was less than ecstatic to have to sit in a car all day, but it was all worth it when we arrived in Pocatello. I immediately fell in love with my surroundings and the friendly people at this university. We returned for Early Registration in the spring of my senior year,  and I’ve never looked back.

 

Twitter: @IdahoStAaron

Insta: idahostateaaron

