“AS to BS to MA”

 

Growing up I thought that I always knew what I wanted to be. In kindergarten it was a professional puppy petter, in second grade it was a cop, by fifth grade I knew for sure, a baker. In each of these stages I thought I knew what I wanted to do for the rest of my life and nothing could deter me. This was always true until a better career choice came along. When seventh grade hit, I discovered an option that has lead me to where I am today. I wanted to be a psychologist.

Being a psychologist was the path that stuck, and in my junior year of high school I began looking at schools where I could achieve my dream. This was all new to me, and I didn’t have anyone helping me out or giving me their opinions of which college I should attend because I was the first in my family to ever pursue a degree. While it was difficult to be on my own, it was also a gift because I could make every decision my own. I was truly in charge of my future.

Being that I was jumping into uncharted territory I decided to stay close to home and attend Treasure Valley Community College in Ontario, Oregon. While taking psychology courses I became interested in marriage and family therapy. Upon this discovery I was one step closer to my career goal.

After graduating with my associates degree, I packed up my things and moved to Pocatello, Idaho. There were many reasons for me to attend Idaho State University – it was close to home and the tuition was affordable. But the ultimate reason was the program they offered. ISU has one of the best psychology departments in the nation, so it was a “no-brainer.”

Right away, I was able to join a research lab in the department and begin networking with highly esteemed professors. Outside of the psychology department I took the opportunity to get involved with New Student Orientation. For those last two years of my undergraduate education I was discovering what I love. I worked with wonderful people, in both psychology and NSO, who helped me understand myself and what I was capable of. Through their support and encouragement I applied to Idaho State University’s counseling department to pursue a master’s degree.

I was accepted into the program and in the fall of 2016 I was officially a Masters of Counseling student studying Couple, Marriage, and Family Counseling. This was a great track and is a wonderful program but I felt that something was off. I wasn’t as happy as I thought I should be. I quickly discovered that my path was headed in the wrong direction. While I loved studying couple, marriage, and family counseling my heart was set on student affairs. My experience with NSO and other student affairs departments was so amazing. I love my job and I love helping students in one of the most important developmental processes of their life. So, after careful consideration I switched my track to Student Affairs Counseling.

My road to where I am now was not as smooth as I thought it would be, but I know I am where I am meant to be. Idaho State has been such a wonderful experience for me so far. I have grown so much as a student and as a person. All this is thanks to ISU because I don’t believe that I would be where I am if not for the support, encouragement, and opportunity I have been given here.  13432368_862763333828301_5981081928003984106_n

