Hello, again, Bengals!

I am getting so excited to see all of you this summer. We have been hard at work to make sure that this year of New Student Orientation (NSO) is the best one yet! This university has brought me so many amazing opportunities that have helped me learn and grow as an individual. It is going to be so awesome to see where this university takes each one of you!

Snapchat-1145359073333587131
Office shenanigans with Mitch!

My first year at Idaho State University, I lived in the dorms. Since I lived away from home, I often found myself homesick. During my first semester, I spent the majority of my time on Skype with my friends and family back home. Unfortunately, this lead me to miss out on many of the free events that were offered on campus. I also missed out on interacting with my roommates. If my experience taught me anything, it is to say yes to opportunities at Idaho State! There’s a huge part of me that deeply wishes I hadn’t secluded myself from fully experiencing my first year of college.

After my first semester, I started to realize that because I hadn’t reached out and been more involved, I didn’t have very many friends, which made me feel even more alone. So, I decided that I would try to be more involved by attending some university activities.

The first activity ever attended was Bingo. At first, I wasn’t sure what to expect, I mean, why in the world were college students so excited for Bingo?! I was amazed at the types of prizes that were being given away, not to mention there were free energy drinks for students! This activity really lit the fire under my belt to do more on campus. After that, I convinced one of roommates to attend every event that was offered with me.

Being more involved provided me with so many different opportunities to meet people and make new friends. It also gave me the chance to learn and grow as an individual. Slowly but surely, I began to be the person I had always dreamed of becoming.

Last fall, I had volunteered for an event where incoming students were touring the College of Education (my college). It was at this event that my advisor pointed out that she thought I had great leadership skills. She then referred me to apply for the NSO Coordinator position. Hesitantly, I applied for the position and, to my surprise, I was hired!

alia
NODA conference in Pullman!

A few short weeks later, I was in a van with my fellow coordinators on our way to Pullman, Washington for a leadership conference. I can honestly say that stepping out of my comfort zone and applying for this position has opened so many doors for me. Not only am I gaining a tremendous amount of professional experience, but I’m making friendships and connections in the community that I never thought possible.

I guess what my biggest piece of advice is, as you enter this new chapter in your life is to step out of your comfort zone. Do things you never thought you would do. Make goals to meet new people and experience new things. You only get the full college experience for so long, so don’t hold back from reaching your true potential!

Don’t be shy and follow me on Instagram and Twitter!

Twitter: @IdahoStAlia
Instagram: @idahostatealia

#IdahoState #IdahoStateNSO

 

