Hello New Bengals!

My name is Kourtney McConnell, but my friends call me K-Dawg. So please, now that we are friends, call me K-Dawg! This year I am the Social Events and Contracts Coordinator for New Student Orientation, and I am really excited to meet all of you in the upcoming semester. I think NSO is going to be a lot of fun, so you should be excited, too!

This fall will be the beginning of my Senior year at ISU, so I am going to tell you a little bit about how awesome the last 3 years of my life have been!

As a high school student, I had absolutely no idea what I wanted to do with my life. I knew that I wanted to be “rich,” so I limited my career path goals to a bunch of things that I couldn’t even spell, but were worth it in my mind because of the annual salary that came with them. Most of these jobs were in the medical field, and that is what put Idaho State on my radar. After I applied and was accepted, I met with my favorite high school teacher to talk about the direction I wanted to go in in life. I knew for sure that I wanted to work around people. Just by reading over my transcripts, she knew that I should stay far away from anything medical. From having me in her class, my teacher knew that I was really good at talking, so she suggested that I take more of a Communications route. So here I am now, a Public Relations major, far, far away from the anticipated medical field, but pursuing my dreams.

The medical programs were what brought me to ISU, but now that I am not in any of those programs, I guess the question is, what am I still doing here? Can I tell you something? I fell in love with it here! I have friends here that I just can’t imagine my life without. I love the view of the campus from the pillars at the top of Red Hill, I love my academic advisor, the small-town feel of campus, the Annual Tree Lighting Festival around Christmastime, and the friendliness of the staff. Of course, I also love Hero, the emotional support dog up in Veteran’s Services. These may seem like stereotypical answers, I know, but I am being totally honest.

That brings me to why I am working here in the office of New Student Orientation. My hope is that with my involvement in New Student Orientation, I can help you all (our newest Bengals) to see just how amazing ISU is! Hopefully I can spread my love and passion for this University to all of you.  Like me, ISU can become your “home away from home” or even your “new home!”

I am really looking forward to seeing all of you at Orientation this fall! If you have any questions or want to talk a little bit more about ISU, please always feel free to call or email me! Thanks everyone!

My ISU Home
My ISU Home
Go Bengals!
Go Bengals!

Social Media- Kourtney

